“Revolution” in Kenya: Can it Happen?

Discussion about the almost-news events.
tana

“Revolution” in Kenya: Can it Happen?

Post by tana » Wed Oct 30, 2019 10:11 am

So there has been “revolutions” in Sudan, Lebanon…million-man marches in Chile, Ecuador, Catalonia…therefore Kenya could be next? I see Kenyans online suggesting that these type of “revolution” is about to happen in Kenya, and I feel like laughing.

These type of opinions come from Kenyans who are out of touch with reality.

I am not an economic expert, but I postulate that, roughly, Kenyans can be placed into 5 economic groups:

1. Rich - 1% of population;
2. Upper middle class - 9% of population;
3. Middle class - 20% of population;
4. Lower middle class - 30% of population;
5. Poor - 40% of population.
Kenyans living on less than the international poverty line…has declined from 43.6% in 2005/06 to 35.6% in 2015/16.
https://www.worldbank.org/en/country/ke ... ed-by-2030
Kenyans arguing there is an economic crisis that can lead to a revolution, cite the following as the “possible triggers”:

1. Economy is doing very badly, government borrowing has shot up, Nairobi Stock Exchange (NSE) is on “free fall”…

This generally affects categories 1-3 above (cannot trigger a successful popular revolution). People in categories 4 & 5 (who start revolutions) don’t look at economics that way. They look at economics in terms of: have rents shot up (meaning cannot afford rent), am I able to buy food and other basic goods…And this has not changed for them.

2. A lot of job losses:

A lot of jobs have been lost in the area of counterfeiters, smugglers and other illegal businesses. This never starts a revolution.